Mark Making

Collage mark making

My third  pair of Birkin Flares has become a firm favourite, just like the others.  Have I said how much I like these jeans? My first pair has quite a lot of stretch, making them extremely comfortable throughout the day.  The second pair had the misfortune of not having quite as much stretch as necessary, but being a very good colour.  These, the third, have enough stretch, a fabulous blue colour and a firm denim that doesn’t sag.  My favourite pair? Well..  possibly!

P1140201-1
Baste & Gather Birkin Flares

I won’t bore you with a million pictures of the jeans, they’re made in the same way as the other two pairs.  For detailed pictures, you can revisit the first pair.  Once again, I used ordinary thread, I had no intention of mucking about with topstitching stuff.

P1140199-1

For the tee shirt, I used a pattern I’d used twice last year.  The fabric, which you might recognise from my last post, came from Stitch Fabrics at the NEC.  It’s a cobalt blue and white print by John Kaldor, a viscose jersey with a great drape and weight.  I like a floaty tee for the summer when it gets sticky and humid.

Originally I thought I might use the prints I bought for more fitter, “plain” tees, and the solids for the floaty stuff, but I was halfway through cutting this one out when I remembered!  Oh dear!  Anyway, I love how this has turned out.

P1140205-1

P1140204-1

The pattern is 113/4 from Burdastyle 12 2008.  An oldie, but a goodie.  I used Vilene iron-on bias stay tape on all the neckline edges and armholes.  I have learned my lesson with soft, drapy knits and keeping them in their place!  I love how the print on this looks in this and I’m looking forward to wearing it thoughout the summer.

P1140203-1
Loving my new shoes too!

I have more makes to show you now I have a photographer at home for the Easter holidays, most of them will be going into my suitcase for my trip to South Africa in two weeks.  TWO WEEKS!

 

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

23 thoughts on “Mark Making”

  1. I keep trying to resist those jeans and getting weaker by the minute. I love the top too. Have a great holiday. There’s wonderful fabric shopping to be done in SA!!

  2. Grand outfit – congratulations on getting just the right fabric for those jeans & the fantastic fabric top we’re all drooling over! 😀

  3. Love both of these. I’m yet to foray into trousers, but must soon, owing to my determination not to buy clothes any more but having very little to wear…Both look great on you! Jen

  4. I’m so tempted by a Birkin after seeing all your fab versions! If only the pound sterling were stronger against the dollar right now I’d be on it pronto. Hopefully later this year then.

    Love the top too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Sanctuary Garden

My little piece of heaven on earth

Making and Books

I like making, and I like books.

The Insouciant Stitcher

Creativity beats Insanity

Fabric Engineering

Creating a well-fitting wardrobe, piece by piece

Yet Another Unfinished Project

Crafting better mental health by sewing myself happy. Slow fashion, conscious consuming and an effort to live a more ethical life.

A Tailored View

The thinking behind a project

Poundcake

a lot of cake and a little frosting

Sew Everything Blog

Always sewing. Sewing Everything. Sharing the Sewing with Everyone

Your Stitches May Vary

sewing, making, and mental health.

The Easy Blues

craft, diy, natural dyeing

Creating in the Gap

Forever sewing

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

U&Mii

Adventures of a plus size renegade seamstress

allsewpetite

Create beautiful bags with confidence!

tales of the sewing city

slow sewing, creativity, and a fabric obsession

Mainelymenswear

Be your own luxury brand !

Marsha Style

PDF sewing patterns & sewing blog

Buttons and Trims

Sewing - Learning - Making

Designed By Danita

"Seams" like I've been sewing forever!

the curious kiwi

Happily immersed in sewing nerdyness…

KJ Sews

Sewing and more

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

Sew My Style

Forever sewing

Offsquare

A refashion and sewing blog

Tailored by Kate

My sewing record

The Notions Tin

Forever sewing

Girls in the Garden

Forever sewing

The Savvy Sartorialist

Fashion, Lifestyle & Travel by Trish O'Sullivan

Needleswift

Sewing lessons in Lindfield, West Sussex

Just another blog

Permanently sleep deprived. Trying to make a lot of stuff.

jess sews clothes

blogging my homemade wardrobe

nomadiccharacter

Forever sewing

The German Edge

Forever sewing

Make&Wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog