Orange French Knot Skirt

 Simplicity 6896, view C
Simplicity 6896, view C

After the reaction the orange skirt Daughter No2 wore with her wearable toile Carme, I decided I’d better give more info on the skirt she had on too!  It was made in July 2012, so it’s had its fair share of outings already, but it was never blogged.  I had used Simplicity 6896, view C.  I liked the box pleats and the wide belt loops.

The fabric had been a plain white linen that I’d dyed this fabulous orange the year before.  It had been a long piece of fabric, I cut it in half and dyed half Dylon Sunflower Yellow & this was Dylon Goldfish Orange.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but once in the stash it was ready when I was!  I then saw an a-line skirt in a friend’s Boden catalogue, the online details are no longer available, but here’s an image someone has pinned to Pinterest.

French knot skirt by Boden, about 2011 or 2012

It was linen and had been embellished with rows of equally spaced French knots in a contrasting colour.  At the time I’d been making French knot sheep on pincushions and cushion covers and totebags, so a few more French knots on a skirt weren’t going to lose me any sleep!  I found enough turquoise embroidery thread in my stash & bought a turquoise invisible zip too.

Three rows of spaced French knots
Three rows of spaced French knots

I made the skirt up first, then measured the width and divided that number into equal parts.  I marked the position of the knots with a disappearing marker and got cracking.  The result is really eye-catching, and it cost me a fraction of the Boden skirt!  Yay for DIY fashion!

The details
The details: (clockwise from top left) French knots on the outside, turquoise zip, the back of the knots & the inner waistband.

DSC08774-1

Just such a simple embellishment changes it from a normal skirt to something a little special.  If you’d like to do something similar, here’s a French knot tutorial.  I hope you’ve enjoyed our little journey into the past with this make, now I have to get on with a pair of trousers.  I have a wedding reception to attend next month, and would you know it – I haven’t a thing to wear…

Oh – don’t forget to vote for my competition entries:  The Monthly Stitch has the Carme in Liberty & the Dressed to the Nines is being re-run, my entry there is A Snowball for the Summer.  Thanks!  🙂

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

17 thoughts on “Orange French Knot Skirt”

  1. Great idea for embellishment! The little things make garments all the more special. Do you by any chance know where your daughters shoes came from, because I have been looking for some just like that forever without any luck!

  2. Voted! Too bad about the voting in Dressed to the Nines. I really respect how it was handled.

    Okay, I’ve bookmarked how to french knot. The skirt is so pretty, and combined with your expert dying skills, {that’s fabric dying, :)} well, it’s just a Anthropologie designer look!

    Your white climbing hydrangea is blooming beautifully!

    1. Thank you! I love hydrangeas & that is wonderful! It smells like watermelon… Mari is the queen of diplomacy, she’s gone about the whole thing brilliantly. Thank you for your vote, now I expect to see loads of colourful knots on your next make! 🙂

  3. What a cool skirt and perfect with the complimentary color of blue! I left a vote for you and continue to enjoy reading and seeing your garments inside and out!

    1. Be warned – they are incredibly addictive!! I must have done thousands on those cushion covers, but still did more. Sucker for punishment! 🙂

  4. I’d done french knots on a blouse last year, but hadn’t thought about doing such a neat design on a skirt – thank you for the idea!
    del xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Sanctuary Garden

My little piece of heaven on earth

Making and Books

I like making, and I like books.

The Insouciant Stitcher

Creativity beats Insanity

Fabric Engineering

Creating a well-fitting wardrobe, piece by piece

Yet Another Unfinished Project

Crafting better mental health by sewing myself happy. Slow fashion, conscious consuming and an effort to live a more ethical life.

A Tailored View

The thinking behind a project

Poundcake

a lot of cake and a little frosting

Sew Everything Blog

Always sewing. Sewing Everything. Sharing the Sewing with Everyone

Your Stitches May Vary

sewing, making, and mental health.

The Easy Blues

craft, diy, natural dyeing

Creating in the Gap

Forever sewing

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

U&Mii

Adventures of a plus size renegade seamstress

allsewpetite

Create beautiful bags with confidence!

tales of the sewing city

slow sewing, creativity, and a fabric obsession

Mainelymenswear

Be your own luxury brand !

Marsha Style

PDF sewing patterns & sewing blog

Buttons and Trims

Sewing - Learning - Making

Designed By Danita

"Seams" like I've been sewing forever!

the curious kiwi

Happily immersed in sewing nerdyness…

KJ Sews

Sewing and more

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

Sew My Style

Forever sewing

Offsquare

A refashion and sewing blog

Tailored by Kate

My sewing record

The Notions Tin

Forever sewing

Girls in the Garden

Forever sewing

The Savvy Sartorialist

Fashion, Lifestyle & Travel by Trish O'Sullivan

Needleswift

Sewing lessons in Lindfield, West Sussex

Just another blog

Permanently sleep deprived. Trying to make a lot of stuff.

jess sews clothes

blogging my homemade wardrobe

nomadiccharacter

Forever sewing

The German Edge

Forever sewing

Make&Wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog