Know You Better – with photos!

All done!  Photographing projects in this weather is not easy!  I waited for daughter No2 to come home from school to do pics, but it was way to dark by then.  We did take some photos indoors, but the lighting isn’t that good.  So back outside this morning, in the rain!  Grrr.  How do some of you bloggers manage to get such good shots indoors?  Anyways, without further ado, here’s my take on Burda’s pattern #108 from 11/2012.

This fabric is devine to wear!  The only thing I’d change when I do this pattern again, and I will make another, is to cut the necktie/band on the straight.  Especially if the fabric has as much movement as this viscose!  Despite putting it on twice, the one side has twisted, which is most annoying!  If I had cut it on the straight grain instead, that wouldn’t have happened.

With the addition of darts at the back, the blouse fits much better.  And now there’s plenty of fullness in the sleeve too!

Fuzzy again, but at least I’m kinda smiling!  I love that fabric!!  I wonder if it came in other colourways – and where I can get my hands on some…

Grim concentration to make sure no shaky hands!  hehe  Self portraits aren’t easy.

Janene over at Ooobop! has posted a review of December’s Burda, so I guess I have more to make!!

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

15 thoughts on “Know You Better – with photos!”

  1. It looks beautiful! You can’t really tell that the necktie / band has twisted unless you look really really hard – definite win!

    1. Thanks! It’s so annoying that it happened in only one place! I did try my best to fix it, but it wasn’t having it. I am definitely making another though, so watch this space!

  2. Gorgeous shirt, I have this fabric too and it was so slippery under the needle! I got mine from a fabric shop in Rotherham, and I don’t recall it coming in any other colours (which is a shame!)

  3. Oh I am so with you on that fabric. It looks amazing. Lovely sleeves especially. I kept thinking you had a glass of bubbly in your hand instead of a camera…. wouldn’t look out of place. Dead classy! 🙂

  4. Wow this looks fantastic – I couldn’t agree more with the other comments and I can’t see any tie twisting without peering creepily close lol.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Sanctuary Garden

My little piece of heaven on earth

Making and Books

I like making, and I like books.

The Insouciant Stitcher

Creativity beats Insanity

Fabric Engineering

Creating a well-fitting wardrobe, piece by piece

Yet Another Unfinished Project

Crafting better mental health by sewing myself happy. Slow fashion, conscious consuming and an effort to live a more ethical life.

A Tailored View

The thinking behind a project

Poundcake

a lot of cake and a little frosting

Sew Everything Blog

Always sewing. Sewing Everything. Sharing the Sewing with Everyone

Your Stitches May Vary

sewing, making, and mental health.

The Easy Blues

craft, diy, natural dyeing

Creating in the Gap

Forever sewing

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

U&Mii

Adventures of a plus size renegade seamstress

allsewpetite

Create beautiful bags with confidence!

tales of the sewing city

slow sewing, creativity, and a fabric obsession

Mainelymenswear

Be your own luxury brand !

Marsha Style

PDF sewing patterns & sewing blog

Buttons and Trims

Sewing - Learning - Making

Designed By Danita

"Seams" like I've been sewing forever!

the curious kiwi

Happily immersed in sewing nerdyness…

KJ Sews

Sewing and more

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

Sew My Style

Forever sewing

Offsquare

A refashion and sewing blog

Tailored by Kate

My sewing record

The Notions Tin

Forever sewing

Girls in the Garden

Forever sewing

The Savvy Sartorialist

Fashion, Lifestyle & Travel by Trish O'Sullivan

Needleswift

Sewing lessons in Lindfield, West Sussex

Just another blog

Permanently sleep deprived. Trying to make a lot of stuff.

jess sews clothes

blogging my homemade wardrobe

nomadiccharacter

Forever sewing

The German Edge

Forever sewing

Make&Wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog