Crystal Midnight

I’ve been sewing up a storm – all the fabric bought from Fabworks has been made up!  This is the last piece, a really nice jersey, although I’d call it a knit rather.  I had thought it would make a fab tee, loved the colours and digital type print.  When it arrived I realised it was thicker and weightier than I had pictured.  I’ve still made a tee-shirt, but this will be more of a cooler weather tee than a hot weather one!  I am most definitely counting it towards part of my Sew Seasonal Wardrobe.

P1140095-1
Birgitte Tee by Maria Denmark

I reverted to the Maria Denmark Birgitte tee, v-neck with three quarter sleeves.  These particular sleeves are 4cm shorter than the pattern and 3cm narrower at the cuff.  I find the pattern as drafted is a little too wide at the cuff, and I prefer them a little shorter too.  I really like this pattern as a quick make, the fit works for me.

P1140098-1

I am sorry the fabric isn’t softer and drapier than I imagined.  However, if you were thinking of making a cardi, in particular the Wendy Ward Longley cardi, you could definitely use this!

P1140100-1

P1140102-1

P1140097-1

This summer looks like it will be made mostly in blue and white, which is no bad thing.  My colours in general tend to be blue, black, grey, white and a bit of beige/camel/tan thrown in for warmth.  They all go together well and remain pretty classic.  I know some people will think it’s all a bit boring, but I like it! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

21 thoughts on “Crystal Midnight”

  1. It’s not boring it’s perfect – I got a really ‘boring’ delivery last week – all solid colours – but they’re make garments that I’ll wear much more that all the bright prints in my stash 😃

    1. Thank you 🙂 I stiitched it on with the machine first, then used the overlocker, it’s made for a much better finish.

  2. I have fabric envy – I love the texture and colors and your neck band is enviable too. Great make

Leave a Reply

