Bellatrix III

DSC07082-1

Yup, I’ve made another one!  I still haven’t quite got the sleevehead – armhole issue sorted, but it’s getting there.  So, how many of these will I actually make this year?  Who knows!  It’s really quick to make, looks fab & uses very little fabric (apart from the sleeves – how long are they!!)

I was tossing fabric out of one of my stash boxes on Tuesday after I’d finished my Jungle blouse to see what else I had for me.  I made two piles:  Daughter No1 & Daughter No2.  (I really should have dug in a different box)  One of the pieces in the Daughter No2 pile was a 1m piece of black wool & polyester mix with a grey stripe, making a windowpane design.  It was to have been made into a wiggle skirt, but her nose got this odd wrinkle when I offered it up.

Just off-hand I wondered how it would look as a Bellatrix Blazer.  I laid it out & attempted to place the pattern pieces, cheating ever so slightly by placing the sleeves on the cross grain – but it fit!  Sooo…  I cut it!  Overnight I remembered I had some turquoise & lime spotty silk that was to have been a dress.  I’d got so far with it before realising it was totally not me, so bagged it & stuffed it into the far reaches of the fabric cupboard for “recutting”.  I though it would be fabulous as the lining in what would otherwise be a plain, formal looking garment.  It was just enough for the front & back pieces & the pockets, but again those sleeves wouldn’t play ball.  In the end I used some left-over black lining that had been used to replace the lining in Husband’s French Connection jacket.

bellatrix III CollageSo this is a real win for the stashbusting efforts of 2014.  I am definitely counting the recutting of the dress in this one!  Chalk up 2 from the stash – whoot, that means I can go shopping!  🙂

Lining that's meant to be seen!
Lining that’s meant to be seen!
Awesome pockets!
Awesome pockets!

I cannot say too many times that this is a really easy pattern to make.  Cut on Tuesday night, interfaced & marked on Wednesday morning, sewn in the late afternoon & finished on Thursday.  Can you name another jacket you can finish that quickly?  The only thing I did differently this time was to use some fusible canvas interfacing on the undercollar piece to hold this lightweight wool in place.  With the cotton canvas print I left the stiffness out, but the fabric really needed the support this time.  I do still want to make one for daughter No1, but first she needs to come home so I can show her the fabric I have in mind, & of course, she needs to try on a toile.

DSC07074-1
Demure Bellatrix?

DSC07075-1

DSC07073-1

I know the photos do not do the stripe any justice, when we have weather that will allow outdoor photos with decent light, I promise to take a few more.  For now though, the UK is battening down the hatches in preparation for yet another deluge & high winds.  I guess we should be lucky that we at least aren’t suffering with the cold & snow like our friends in the USA.

In the interim, I have found another couple of pieces in the stash (!) for me, so I’m off to sketch out some ideas, because I can’t do anything with them in my head.

Get those sketchbooks out!
Get those sketch & note books out!
Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

26 thoughts on “Bellatrix III”

  1. Gorgeous! Love that pop of colour in the lining. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about making another one of these – seeing your multiple versions has now got me all inspired to start one next week – woo hoo!

  2. Oh My Gosh, I LOVE this Bellatrix. It really is stunning! I must get this pattern now, even though I’m on a pattern diet, since I have so many and have only sewn a few of them.

  3. I am totally left out in the USA Polar Freeze. It seriously hit practically the WHOLE country except California and Florida! Which frankly I am fine with because I do not like to be cold… We have actually had a WARMER winter then usual.. lots of temps in the 70 and 80’s F! We do need some rain though because we are seriously in a drought… I heard that some cities in my state will run out of water in 3 months! (We should do a rain dance I am sure!) … I LOVE the lining and would love to see more of it in all it’s glory. I think the blazer is beautiful too- I bet your daughter is very pleased!

    1. Weather everywhere is completely messed up! I think the UK is going to drown this winter – at least no mention of droughts! I’d be more than happy to send some of the wet stuff over to you, just say the word! 🙂

  4. I’m in love with this pattern but not sure it’s because your versions are so gorgeous or because it is a nice pattern. You make it sound very easy and I’m itching to try it now. Looking forward to the next one 🙂

    1. It really is a great pattern – made all the more perfect because I won it! There is no “proper” tailoring in it, which is why it can be made up quickly, but it still looks fab. Go for it!

  5. I can see why you’ve made a few versions of this jacket. There is nothing like a classic cropped jacket to build a wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

