January Blues

Pattern cutting in full flow - or as husband calls it, making a mess.
Pattern cutting in full flow – or as husband calls it, making a mess.

I’ve had one of those weeks.  Simply put, it’s been a blue week, although Evie has a better word – one my Granny used to describe a certain type of weather, dull, miserable & grey.  “Dreich”.  Luckily, in South Africa she didn’t need to use it a lot, but it had its days.  I have been working on my Jungle January project, having thought I knew what I wanted.  Well….

So far I have 2 block toiles (adjustments, you know), 3 style toiles & all the accompanying paperwork and now a 3rd block underway.  Something’s going wrong & I’m blaming it on this “blue week”.  Nothing seems to be working.  The toiles just aren’t fitting correctly, I don’t like the resulting styles on me & it’s all just getting me down.  This morning I came across a tweet with a link to this article.  Boy did it resonate with me today!  If my pattern making isn’t working, there must be something I’m doing wrong, right?  I’m obviously not good enough.  Then this tweet from @SueHotchkis popped up in my twitter feed:

No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow you progress, you are still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.

Mistakes I have in droves, and progress has most certainly been slow!  And boy am I trying, but that nagging thought was in the back of my head – “you’re not good enough”.  I know I’m not the only one.  How to overcome it though?

I had a 1-1 pattern cutting session with a student this afternoon that, in my current frame of mind I was, quite frankly, dreading.  I’d probably have said all the wrong things & his hard work would have ended up a total waste of time, like the pile of paper & toiles in my room.  Thankfully it went ok!  The disaster he thought he had with his self-drafted trousers was not that bad, & looks to be able to be sorted with a few short steps, as with his waistcoat.

So I realised after he’d gone, maybe I wasn’t such rubbish afterall…

Never give up.
Never give up.
Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

8 thoughts on “January Blues”

  1. Awesome article- thanks for sharing! I was just talking to my daughters today about having positive thoughts. I myself have been so guilty of negativity lately… And I read about Dr Emoto and his rice experiments and that really hit home. (Google him!) Stop saying I am lazy when I don’t feel I get enough done, stop saying I am fat… stop saying I am a crappy sewer etc… So we have all vowed to be more positive! I am sure I will still have blue days… but in the grand scheme of things you are good enough! I am sure you are better than good enough!

  2. That’s a great article, thanks for sharing 🙂 I’ve shared it with my partner, as he struggles deeply with just this sort of thinking at times. Mistakes suck, and they make us feel crap, but they are so necessary to our learning and growth 🙂 I love your photo; it actually makes something as dreadful as toile-making seem quite appealing somehow (now that’s talent!!)

  3. How could you possibly be “not good enough”? The clothes you produce are a joy and I’m looking forward to reading about them every time one of your posts pops up in my reader! So none of that dreich talk 🙂 !

  4. You are good enough! You inspire and amaze me every time you post. January is just dark and I know the lack of light affects me. Hope the mood continues to lift!

  5. This week will be better. Sue Hotchkis is very wise…I suspect we could all do to heed here words and listen less to the little voice inside that tries to tell us we’re not good enough.The little voice lies!

Leave a Reply

