Jungle January!!!

Well here it is, January 2013.  Some said we wouldn’t make it to Christmas, but what did the Mayans know??  Happy New Year everybody!  I guess I should be listing my “new” resolutions, going over the good and bad makes of the past year, but that will have to wait until later.  The news of the day is definitely Pretty Grievances‘ Jungle January.

Dangerously Stylish!
Dangerously Stylish!

The idea is simply to make something ravishing with an animal print fabric.  Now generally I don’t do animal print, and almost certainly not fur, the stuff gets everywhere!  I wanted to join in, but wasn’t sure what to do exactly.  Cue a browse on Ditto Fabrics‘ website.  I found this:

Giraffe print!
Giraffe print!

Now I can see a sort of 60’s style cropped swing-coat for Daughter no 2 here, think turquoise lining, or emerald, or even fucshia pink!  I have ordered a sample, which should arrive pretty pronto, knowing the service from Ditto.  I really hope it’s not too fluffy, because I think this could really work!  😀

Look out January, the animals are on the loose!

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

17 thoughts on “Jungle January!!!”

  1. Nooooooooooooooooo!!!!! Stop tempting me with new fabric!!!! That is just fabulous…especially as I’ve been eyeing up the new Burberry giraffe print coat!

  2. Oh man I think any of the linings would be amazing but my vote is emerald and as shiny as you can find!! Never heard of giraffe print before either ….

  3. I’ve never worn or sewed with animal print, but I’m always attracted to the graphic quality of giraffe – I really like this fabric…. perhaps I’ll have to do some sleuthing! lol

Leave a Reply

