True Blue

Sky-blue summer dress

Another day, another dress!

As the Olympics draw nearer, I think we have a winner!

This dress uses the basic shape of the pattern used for the Simply Red dress, but I have eliminated all the panels and cut on the bias to take full advantage of the stripes.

The fabric is a fine cotton sent to me as part of an estate sale haul by a friend who has abandoned me moved to the States.  (Her busband blogs here – an online diary of his aclimatisation) I had to line the dress, this fabric was a trifle too transparent in the light – ok for a shirt, not so good for anything with a skirt!

Plain cotton lining with a blue broiderie anglaise trim

To give it a little more interest I added some blue broiderie anglaise to the hem of the cotton lining, just enough to peek out at the bottom.

A happy Daughter No2 showing off her handywork – a totebag embroidered, beaded and sequined by her own fair hand as a birthday present for a friend

I will be making another panelled dress, I dug out another piece of fabric sent by the same friend, this time a black and blue print that will look just stunning!!

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

12 thoughts on “True Blue”

  1. Such a pretty dress and such a pretty daughter! Your stripe matching skills are awe inspiring.

    1. Thanks, the matching went just fine until the invisible zip – I unpicked the second side 3 times because the fabric kept moving!

  2. Hooooou how pretty and well made well of course being worn by you and that great figure helps to make the summer dress look even nicer,congrats.

    1. Thanks, Daughter No2 does love her dresses. Enjoy reading David’s blog, it’s been interesting reading how different things are over there.

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! I know it might seem unusual to describe a dress using the words crisp, clean and fresh but thats how I feel…Also it suits your daughter perfectly :).

Leave a Reply

