Lack of planning….

This is so completely applicable to today.

Says it all really

What didn’t I plan you ask?  Well, I knew what I wanted to make, knew what fabric from my overflowing stash to use, knew I had loads of thread.  Assumed that in the zip box there would be a long enough red or white invisible zip.  A-HA  therein lies the lack of planning.  I never checked said zip-box.  And no-one in my little rural market town sells invisible zips!

So I have no finished red dress to show.  But I do have a pinned-down-the-back red dress….  Want to see?

Front bodice section

And the pinned back…

The back for now.
Almost….. proper, finished and prettily posed photos soon!!

So the lesson is:  As Husband would say, “Assume makes an ass out of you and me”.  Yup.  I have to get onto Jaycotts and buy zips!!  Am I the only one who gets all excited about making something, only to fall at a simple hurdle, like non-existent zips?

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

4 thoughts on “Lack of planning….”

  1. Nope – invisible zips are so called because you can never find the things when you need them and local sewing shops never sell them! I feel your pain. But that dress will be worth the wait. It looks stunning already!

Leave a Reply

