When a plan doesn’t quite work out

You know the feeling when you are about to cut up your favourite fabric – the “Oh boy, I hope this works” feeling.  Then you take a deep breath and go for it.  I finished the Kimono dress in that fabulous silk.  But I don’t like it…  OH NOOOO!!!

Photos will follow, once I can force myself to get daughter no 1 to take some for me.  I don’t quite know what went wrong – the pattern doesn’t go with the shape, I hate the waistband area…  So for now I will pop it back in the cupboard and get on finishing the purple georgette blouse which, fingers crossed, seems to be working out better.

I have learn one thing though – I do NOT look like the figure in the sketch!!  I will have to make some templates that are more my shape than a tall skinny minny!  Perhaps that will help me to be more realistic!  I saw a pin on Pinterest a while ago…  and I think this sums up my predicament perfectly, although it isn’t always the camera and the mirror who disagree, it’s me and the mirror/camera!

Reality
Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

One thought on “When a plan doesn’t quite work out”

  1. That happened with me with my trench coat! I love it on my dress dummy but I hate it on me 😦 and I was sure it would me amazing – I’ll share some photos eventually…

    I love your picture above, it’s so true! Silly camera/mirror/brain conflict

Leave a Reply

