Hello, my name is Anne, and I am a fabric addict

So there I was, waiting for the sewing repair man to open, and I thought I’d check out a little fabric shop in Kenilworth.  Linda Harper’s is on the High St (opposite Sainsbury’s), nothing to shout about from the outside.  I hadn’t been there in years, and wasn’t even sure if it was still there.  Once inside I realised I had made a terrible mistake!  There was no way I was getting out without buying something!!  They have their cotton fabrics all grouped in colour order, then the linens, then the silks, you get where I am going…  Wool and fleeces are in a different room.  The temptation was ENORMOUS!!

So this is what I absolutely had to have before leaving.  I was still looking for something for the Knot Dress, wouldn’t you know it, but nothing in my stash was right.  I am not going to use any of these for the dress either, but I know they will come in handy one day!  I figure they will make perfect vintage garments, they have that vibe.

Vintage feel cotton fabrics

Fixed sewing machine and overlocker in the boot, I head home, via Stratford.  I have run out of calico, so headed to Fred Winter.  Once again, a very dangerous maneuver!  I added to the calico some vibrant red batik, which will be perfect for a 60’s dress pattern I got from Etsy last month, and a rather interesting Liberty print – which I think is the fabric for the Knot Dress.

Liberty Tana Lawn and Red Cotton Batik

What do you think??

Author: Anne W

I love fabric, and sewing. And I could do nothing else but sew, all day, every day, if I could!

Leave a Reply

